Get Instagram

How to Temporarily Disable Your Instagram Account

4 min read Lina StewartAuthor

Instagram is a powerful video and photos sharing social media platform that has evolved tremendously over the last ten years. Instagram is a great place for businesses to advertise and individuals to share their personal stories, and many people appreciate the value it brings to their lives. This might be the reason why Instagram has attracted over one billion active monthly users.

But social media is not everyone’s cup of tea, and some people decide to deactivate Instagram. For example, if you’ve discovered that Instagram is taking up too much of your time, or maybe you no longer have an interest in opening your life for the world to see and share posts about your life, you may want to remove your account from Instagram.

It could be that you have created a new Instagram account, and now you want to disable your old account and prevent anyone from seeing it, but still want to save all your posts and data in your account. Bear in mind that when you temporarily disable your Instagram account, you can reactivate it at any time and still retain all your data.

Buy an Established Instagram Account

Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.

See Available Accounts

You can deactivate your Instagram account temporarily if you desire to take a break from the social platform. In this article, we will go through the step-by-step process of how to temporarily disable your Instagram account.

How to disable an Instagram account

It’s very simple to disable your Instagram account and only requires a few easy steps. Keep in mind that you cannot deactivate your Instagram account inside the Instagram app – disabling can only be performed through your browser.

  1. Log into your Instagram account on a computer or via a mobile browser.
  2. Click on the “profile symbol” at the top right of your screen.
  3. Select Edit Profile.
  4. Fill in the reason why you are temporarily disabling your Instagram account. Note that you must do this to be able to complete the process.
  5. Type in your password and click “Temporarily disable account”. If you cannot remember your password or username, you can get help with your password by clicking “forgot password?”.

How many times can you temporarily disable Instagram?

There is no restriction on how many times you can temporarily disable your Instagram account, but you should be very careful not to overdo it as Instagram may see this as a bot or spam, which may result in them locking your IP.

What happens when you disable your Instagram account?

If you disable your Instagram account temporarily, your account, comments, photos, and likes will become hidden from the public. They will, however, not be removed. Whenever you reactivate the account, all data will become visible and available again.

This means that nobody can find your account, or any content connected to it (such as likes and comments you have left).

To temporarily disable an Instagram account or to delete it permanently?

There is a big difference between permanently deleting your Instagram account and temporarily deactivating the account. When you delete your Instagram account permanently, the account is gone for good, and you cannot get any of the data in the account back.

But when you disable your Instagram account temporarily, your account is only hidden from the public. However, you still have access to all the content and data it contains as well as being able to reactivate it whenever you want.

If you’re not 100% sure that you will never be needing the account again or may want to take a look at your old posts sometime in the future, temporarily deactivating it is the best alternative. This is because if you permanently delete it, there is no turning back — no matter what you do.

If you do not want to temporarily disable the account but want to change who can see it, you can tell Instagram to make your posts private or block certain people from seeing them. You can do this by either making your Instagram account private or blocking specific accounts.

Remember that if you make your account private, YOU are the one who decides who gets to follow your account. People request to follow you, and then you decide whether you allow them or not.

Buy an Established Instagram Account

Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.

See Available Accounts

Related articles