Instagram Knowledge

Can Someone See a Screenshot on Instagram?

3 min read Lina StewartAuthor
Can Someone See a Screenshot on Instagram

Instagram is the world’s most popular photo-sharing service, reaching 1 billion active users in 2020. With so many users sharing content, videos, and photos, many are wondering if their privacy is maintained when they take screenshots on Instagram.

Are you wondering whether people are alerted to screenshots on Instagram? Then this article is for you! Read below to find out more about how screenshotting works on Instagram.

People are not normally notified about screenshots

So can someone see a screenshot on Instagram? In most cases, Instagram does not notify users when screenshots are taken. An exception to this is when screenshots are taken of disappearing videos and photos in direct message chats. If you do take screenshots of these, the poster will receive a notification. Instagram has changed its policies on screenshots in the past, so it’s worth bearing in mind that what’s true today may not be the case in the future. This is why it’s important to check the terms and conditions every so often if you don’t want people to know about your screenshots.

Buy an Established Instagram Account

Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.

See Available Accounts

In 2018, Instagram introduced a feature that allowed people to find out who’d taken screenshots of their stories, but this was swiftly retired due to privacy concerns.

Why do people take screenshots?

People take screenshots on Instagram for all sorts of reasons. They may enjoy a photo or video so much that they want to keep it indefinitely. The post may include information that’s of real value to them, such as a recipe or other important instructions. Some people wish to save photos of events that they attended, such as weddings, birthday parties and other exciting occasions.

Keeping DM content

One way to prevent someone from being notified when you want to keep content from a direct message is to take a picture of it. There is no way of the original poster finding out about this. You can also use your device to capture a video if you wish.

The bookmarking feature

If you want to keep content without taking screenshots, you can use Instagram’s bookmarking feature. This allows you to save the links to posts so you can return to them later. The poster will not be notified about this. There’s a bookmark icon beneath Instagram posts that you can tap to save them. To see all your saved posts in one place, head to your profile, tap the menu icon in the top right, and tap on Saved. However, you won’t be able to return to a post once it has been deleted.

How to prevent people from screenshotting your content

Perhaps you’re worried about people you don’t know taking screenshots of your own content. If this is the case, you can make it harder for people to take screenshots by switching your profile to private. Your current followers will still be able to take screenshots, but others will only be able to see your name and profile picture. This will keep your content hidden from people you don’t want seeing it.

Conclusion

We hope you’ve found this guide useful if you do want to take screenshots while maintaining your privacy. Remember, you can always set your profile to private if you’re worried about strangers screenshotting your own content.

Buy an Established Instagram Account

Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.

See Available Accounts

Related articles