Instagram is the world’s most popular photo-sharing service, reaching 1 billion active users in 2020. With so many users sharing content, videos, and photos, many are wondering if their privacy is maintained when they take screenshots on Instagram.
Are you wondering whether people are alerted to screenshots on Instagram? Then this article is for you! Read below to find out more about how screenshotting works on Instagram.
People are not normally notified about screenshots
So can someone see a screenshot on Instagram? In most cases, Instagram does not notify users when screenshots are taken. An exception to this is when screenshots are taken of disappearing videos and photos in direct message chats. If you do take screenshots of these, the poster will receive a notification. Instagram has changed its policies on screenshots in the past, so it’s worth bearing in mind that what’s true today may not be the case in the future. This is why it’s important to check the terms and conditions every so often if you don’t want people to know about your screenshots.
Buy an Established Instagram Account
Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.
See Available Accounts →In 2018, Instagram introduced a feature that allowed people to find out who’d taken screenshots of their stories, but this was swiftly retired due to privacy concerns.
Why do people take screenshots?
People take screenshots on Instagram for all sorts of reasons. They may enjoy a photo or video so much that they want to keep it indefinitely. The post may include information that’s of real value to them, such as a recipe or other important instructions. Some people wish to save photos of events that they attended, such as weddings, birthday parties and other exciting occasions.
Keeping DM content
One way to prevent someone from being notified when you want to keep content from a direct message is to take a picture of it. There is no way of the original poster finding out about this. You can also use your device to capture a video if you wish.
The bookmarking feature
If you want to keep content without taking screenshots, you can use Instagram’s bookmarking feature. This allows you to save the links to posts so you can return to them later. The poster will not be notified about this. There’s a bookmark icon beneath Instagram posts that you can tap to save them. To see all your saved posts in one place, head to your profile, tap the menu icon in the top right, and tap on Saved. However, you won’t be able to return to a post once it has been deleted.
How to prevent people from screenshotting your content
Perhaps you’re worried about people you don’t know taking screenshots of your own content. If this is the case, you can make it harder for people to take screenshots by switching your profile to private. Your current followers will still be able to take screenshots, but others will only be able to see your name and profile picture. This will keep your content hidden from people you don’t want seeing it.
Conclusion
We hope you’ve found this guide useful if you do want to take screenshots while maintaining your privacy. Remember, you can always set your profile to private if you’re worried about strangers screenshotting your own content.
Lina Stewart
Lina is a content writer at Social Tradia who turns social media data into stories worth reading. Off the clock, she's reading a novel, sipping cold coffee, or losing the couch to her cat.
Buy an Established Instagram Account
Skip starting from zero. Browse Instagram/TikTok accounts with audiences across many niches.
See Available Accounts →Related articles
-
Instagram KnowledgeInstagram Instants Feature: What It Is, How It Works, and How to Turn It Off
The first time I opened Instagram Instants, I almost backed out. I had taken a normal photo. Nothing worth editing. Nothing worth posting. Nothing that needed an…
11 min readEmi Daniel →
-
Instagram KnowledgeHow to Clear Instagram Cache on iPhone, Android & Desktop
Instagram can quietly build up a lot of temporary files while you scroll through Reels, watch Stories, save posts, and upload your own content. You may not…
12 min readEmi Daniel →
-
Instagram KnowledgeHow to See Who Reposted Your Instagram Post (2026 Guide)
Someone reposted your Instagram post, but you have no idea who it was. You check notifications, search through your profile, and still cannot find a clear answer. …
18 min readEmi Daniel →
